Primary Media Contact: Holly Walker, Director of Communications and Public Relations, 804-594-1530

Secondary Media Contact: Heather Busch, Director of Marketing and Brand Strategy, 804-594-1532

CHESTER and MIDLOTHIAN, Va. – Brightpoint Community College inducted more than 70 students into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society during a ceremony held at the institution’s Chester Campus on April 17, 2023. Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges and is the largest honor society in American higher education. In addition to recognizing the academic achievements of two-year college students, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. 

To be eligible for membership in the college’s Tau Rho and Beta Omicron Omicron chapters of Phi Theta Kappa, students who have completed 15-45 credit hours need to have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.65, be in an associate degree program, and be enrolled full time during the semester they become a member. Students who have completed more than 45 credits must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5, be in an associate degree program, and be enrolled full- or part-time at the college during the semester they become a member. Students who transferred to Brightpoint may use a maximum of 12 transfer credits to establish total semester credit eligibility.

Brightpoint’s Beta Omicron Omicron and Tau Rho chapters of Phi Theta Kappa welcomed the following new members (zip codes appear in parentheses):

Beta Omicron Omicron Members  
Juan Barreto Jerez (23832)
Joseph Bentley (23192)
Dylan Brown (23236)
Jacob Brown (23113)
Lamar Cotton (23831)
Courtney Cronin (23192)
Lynne Dawson (23225)
Jordan Doss (23114)
Mary Early (23235)
Sarah Emanuele (23103)
Paige Faberman (23112)
Priyanshu Gandhi (23112)
Taylor Hawkins (23112)
Kelly Huerta (23230)
Daniesha Johnson (23237)
Aye Mya Kay Khine (23111)
Paisley Loucks (23834)
Saamiya Mohammed (23233)
Linh Nguyen (23234)
Htet Ei Nyein (23111)
Lance Olayvar (23236)
Dawn Penland (23234)
Elliott Plante (23153)
Vivian Plante (23153)
Stephanie Quinby (23224)
Beatriz Reyes (23112)
Andrea Rock (23832)
Daniel Routhier (23832)
Adam Rucci (23120)
Alexander Schram (23832)
Daniel Seal (23838)
Thwe Zin Soe (23111)
Dylan Tucker (23114)
Brianna Varner (23832)
Mikaela Vaughn (23236)
Julianna Velasquez (23234)
Alexander Wade (23234)
Janise-Lynn Wallwork (23112)
Nathan Wassem (23139)

Tau Rho Members  
Iman Alabbasi (23060)
Hayley Anderson (23831)
Justin Batten (24426)
Lila Bishwokarma (23112)
Aubrie Camp (23834)
Alina Daniel (23831)
Sarah Etters (23237)
Charles Everett (23834)
Marie Fink-Mohler (24450)
Ebony Fleming (23831)
Tiffany Harrington (20153)
Emily Harrison (23831)
Joyce Howard (20170)
Areeba Khan (23831)
Lindsey Mincks (23834)
Allen Nelson (23831)
Oghenefejiro Ovwagbedia (23237)
Kara Pettiford (23838)
Maren Reich (23832)
Kimberly Renna (23885)
Jack Rigdon (23831)
Leland Rogers (23831)
Francina Simmons (23224)
Paul Skrbin (23834)
Kelsy Smith (23805)
Margaret Smith (23229)
Joseph Stegall (23836)
Brianna Stein (23231)
Tammie Stout (37620)
Elizabeth Valik (23875)
Ben Ward (23141)
Cooper Zell (23832)

Brightpoint Community College, formerly John Tyler Community College, offers more than 80 majors that provide pathways to careers in high-demand fields; transfer opportunities to four-year colleges and universities; and industry credentials and licensures. The college, with campuses in Chester and Midlothian, online classes, and off-campus classrooms, served more than 11,400 students during the 2021-22 academic year. It also assisted approximately 5,700 learners, including more than 2,700 job seekers, through its workforce development division, Community College Workforce Alliance, a partnership between Brightpoint and Reynolds community colleges.